Saturday, September 25, 2010

ONV Kurup and Akhlaq Khan Shahryar will be awarded with Jnanpith Award for 2007 and 2008 respectively!

Leave a Comment
Jnanpith Award is the highest literary honour given to a citizen in India. For the year 2007, the renowned Malyalam poet and litterateur, Mr. ONV Kurup has been chosen for Jnanpith award. While, Akhlaq Khan Shahryar, eminent Urdu poet has been chosen for Jnanpith award for the year 2008. Renowned Oriya writer, Sitakant Mahapatra heading the Jnanpith Selection Board declared ONV Kurup and Akhlaq Khan Shahryar for the Jnantpith Award. Sitakant Mahapatra has himself been the Jnanpith recipient.

ONV Kurup-Jnanpith Award for 2007!

Akhlaq Khan Shahryar-Jnanpith Award for 2008!

The Jnanpith award consists of a sum of Rs. 70,000, idol of Hindu Goddess of Knowledge, Saraswati and citation plaque. The first recipient of Jnanpith award was also a Malyalam writer, G. Sankra Kurup who was honoured in the year 1965.


Post a Comment