Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Check Out My Coins of the Denomination: 5 Rupees!

Leave a Comment
5 Rupees Coins:

1. Dadabhai Naoroji: 1825-1917. The coin has the picture of Dadabhai Naoroji popularly known as the ‘Grand Old Man of India’.

2. K.Kamraj: 1903-1975. The coin has the picture of K.Kamraj on the back side of the coin.

3. Indira Gandhi: 1917-1984. In order to commemorate India’s first lady Prime Minister of India, Indira Gandhi, this coin was minted having the picture of Indira Gandhi at back side. The uniqueness about this coin is its size. This coin is almost double the size of normal 5 Rs. Coin.

4. Jawaharlal Nehru Centenary: 1989. In order to commemorate the 100 years of birth anniversary of Jawaharlal Nehru, first Prime Minister of independent India this coin was minted. The size of this coin is also very large as compared to normal 5 Rs. Coin.

5. World of Work: 1919-1994. The coin has ILO (International Labour Organization) written on it.

6. 50th Anniversary of United Nations: 1995. This coin was minted to commemorate the 50 years of the formation of United Nations. The coin has 50 written on it with the logo of United Nations.

7. 8th World Tamil Conference, Saint Thiruvalluvar: 1995. The coin has the picture of renowned Tamil Saint Thiruvalluvar on the back side of it.

8. Food and Agriculture Organization: 1945-1995

9. Mother’s Health is Child’s Health: 1996. In order to show concern to health of the pregnant women and mothers of newly born baby, this coin shows the picture of a mother holding the baby.

10. Simple 5 Rs. Coin: 1998. This is the simple old 5 Rs. Coin with Ashoka’s three lion’s on the back side of it.

5 Rupees Coins!

11. Bhagwan Mahavir 2600th Janam Kalyanak: 2001. The coin has a ‘Swastik’ sign and a ‘Palm’ on the back side of it.

12. Lal Bahadur Shastri Birth Centenary: 1904-2004. In order to commemorate 100 years of the birth anniversary of our former Prime Minister, Lal Bahadur Shastri, this coin has the picture of Lal Bahadur Shastri at the back side of the coin. It was Lal Bahadur Shastri who gave us the slogan, ‘Jai Jawan, Jai Kisaan’.

13. 75 Years of Dandi March: 1930-2005. The historic Dandi March was started by Mahatma Gandhi in the year 1930 and in order to commemorate its 75 years, this coin shows a group Indian legends lead by Mahatma Gandhi.

14. State Bank of India: 1806-2006. State Bank of India first started in India long back in 1806 and to commemorate 200 years of State Bank of India in the year 2006, this coin was minted. The coin has the sign of State Bank of India on its back side.

15. State Bank of India (Diff. Color): 1806-2006. This coin is similar to the above but has a different color.

16. Celebrating India, ONGC 50: 1956-2006. In order to commemorate 50 years of completion of ONGC, this coin was minted in the year 2006 with 50 and ONGC written on the back side.

17. New Five Rupee Coin: 2007. The new 5 Rs. Coin with waves like appearance in the front.

18. Golden 5 Rs. Coin: 2009. It is the newest golden coloured 5 Rs. Coin.

19. Jagat Guru Sree Narayana Gurudev: The coin has the picture of Jagat Guru Sree Narayana Gurudev at the back side.

20. Mahatma Basaveshwara: The coin has the picture of Mahatma Basaveshwara at the back side.


Post a Comment